Finalists confirmed for East Midlands Chamber’s inaugural Generation Next Awards

Posted in:
Posted by: JasmineThompson
Posted on: 21/05/2021

Finalists for East Midlands Chamber’s inaugural Generation Next Awards have been announced – featuring some of the most promising young talents in the region.

The awards, held in conjunction with headline partner the University of Derby, recognise young professionals and business leaders aged under 35, as well as organisations led by people in this demographic.

There are seven categories, covering a broad spectrum of people in organisations – from Apprentice of the Year to Generation Next Future Leader – as well as the Breakthrough Award for a fast-growing start-up.

A judging day will take place on 3 June – featuring sponsors, a Chamber representative and members of the Generation Next board of “champions” – and winners will be announced at a virtual awards ceremony on Friday 16 July.

Lucy Robinson, East Midlands Chamber’s director of resources and Generation Next lead, said: “Generation Next is a really exciting new initiative from the Chamber and these awards promise to be a fantastic celebration of the amazing young talent we have across the East Midlands.

“Young people don’t always receive the recognition they deserve but we hope that celebrating their achievements will provide the confidence they need to continue growing as they develop within their careers.

“The broad range of categories we chose were carefully crafted and we were delighted with the standard of entries, which are reflected in this incredible list of finalists.”

Generation Next was established by East Midlands Chamber last year as a network for young professionals to make connections, build new skills and advance their careers.

It features networking sessions and educational events on topics such as marketing, brand awareness, sales and personal finance, as well as the awards.

The University of Derby is the headline partner for Generation Next, with Fraser Stretton Estate Agents, GBS Apprenticeships, Hardy Signs, Loughborough College and Nottingham University Business School also signed up as partners.

Professor Kamil Omoteso, pro vice-chancellor and dean of the University of Derby’s College of Business, Law and Social Sciences, said: “Generation Next is the ideal initiative for providing young professionals with support for their new career or business, and these awards are a superb way of celebrating how those taking part have responded to the challenge of establishing themselves in what is a very competitive environment.

“The Generation Next Awards provide everyone whose name is put forward with deserved recognition for their contributions and ideas that are helping to take businesses forward, and to make our region’s economy more dynamic and resilient.”

For more information about the Generation Next network, visit


Generation Next Awards 2021 shortlist

Generation Next Future Leader Award (sponsored by the University of Derby)

Edward Morley – Rise & Recline

Harry Dodge – Far-UK

Kate Walker – ExpHand Prosthetics

Leah Binney – TTK Confectionery

Theo Kirk – Express Recruitment


The Breakthrough Award (sponsored by Nottingham University Business School)

Holly Daulby – Honest Communications

Daniel Jones – Professional Heating Solutions

Max Poynton, Jacob Watts and Matthew Bond – Project D

Kate Johnson – Rate Social

Junyi Xiao – W&W Trading and Consulting


Excellence in Innovation & Technology Award (sponsored by GBS Apprenticeships)

Rikan Patel and Tanrik Patel – Business 2 Business

Tony Buck – EyeSiteView (Division of Oasis Studio)


Customer Service Award

Beth Bearder – Keebles

Jenna Hadfield – Banner Jones Solicitors

Rob Spence – Paragon Sales Solutions

Emily Marriott – Order Blinds Online

Evie Margetts – Corporate Architecture


The Community Award (sponsored by Hardy Signs)

George Hanvere and Elliot Dipper – Paragon Law

Nisha Pahuja – Charnwood Regency Guesthouse Limited

Charlotte Robey Turner – Leicestershire Cares

Katie Gilbert – TTK Confectionery


Entrepreneur of the Year (sponsored by Fraser Stretton)

Trent Peek – CCM Group

Holly Daulby – Honest Communications

Jordana Chin – Nutri2Go Ltd

Max Poynton, Jacob Watts and Matthew Bond – Project D

Aaron Gent – Aroment


Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Loughborough College)

Chloe Newton – BEDE Events

Chris Guard – GBS

Coral Guard – GBS

Chloe Deville – Hardy Signs

Olly Torrence – Purpose Media

Share this post